I am now accessing as a :

Government Of Assam Border Protection and Development

Inter-State Border Areas


Assam shares Inter-State boundaries with Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Tripura, Meghalaya and West Bengal covering a length of over 2743.1KM. Since inception, Govt. of Assam has given full concentration towards the development and other issues of the Border areas.


Inter-State Border Areas Development Programme was first initiated in the 7th five year plan (1985-90) by the Govt. of Assam. The main objectives of the programme are to provide basic amenities to the people living in the backward border areas within a minimum radius of 10 KM from the constitutional boundary of the state. The main activities identified were supply of drinking water, construction and improvement of roads and bridges, school building etc. and also improvement of BOPs and link roads etc.


The inter-state Border Areas fund under Plan/Non-Plan will cover the following 24 districts which are located along the inter-state border and sharing boundary with the neighbouring states of Nagaland, Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Manipur & West Bengal. These districts are Morigaon, Dima Hasao, Dhemaji, Goalpara, Dibrugarh, Kamrup, Kamrup(M), Golaghat, Jorhat, Lakhimpur, Sivasagar, Karbi Anglong, West Karbi Anglong, Tinsukia, Hailakandi, Karimganj, Sonitpur, Cachar, Dhubri, Udalguri, Kokrajhar, Charaideo, Biswanath and South Salmara-Mankachar. The people living in this backward border areas within a minimum radius of 0-10 KM from the constitutional boundary of the state will be benefited from this programme.